Hello and ...help please

Started by b-side-the-c, November 22, 2012, 04:16:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

b-side-the-c

Hi,
What a great resource this site is, thanks to all who keep it going.
I live in Cromer in Norfolk right on the sea hence the user name.  I have always loved glass and have lots from beads (old and new) to large pieces in most rooms now! I have been a regular at Flame off and bead fairs but only to look really.
I am new to all this.... well I actually begin buying the kit, glass etc over last 5 years so when I got to retirement (now) I could begin.  I have made a few beads and everything worked fine. Last night I began in earnest and torch was fine to begin then it got impossible to the control flame.   
When I switch the concentrator on the flame hovers about an inch away from the end of the torch and there is a rushing sound like the flow of oxygen is too high
I have done lots of research so I don't re-invent the wheel and the gas and regulator are fine and the problem is on both torches so they must be fine too. I think it's the oxygen concentrator, which is working, by pushing air through and not oxygen. Had it all to bits and nothing obvious but not sure what I was hoping to find!
I bought it 5 years ago from Glassworks so well out of warranty although it's had almost no use.  I am keen to get on and resigned to buy another concentrator from Martin at Tuffnells but is there anything I might be missing before it do?  Thank you

ruth

hi,

Welcome to FH and to bead making. I am still a newbie so can't advise but there will be someone along soon who can and will.

Ruth
sewnthings
Frittering the children's inheritance.

Lotti

Hi b-side-the-sea, welcome to a wonderful place. :)