im a newbie - extractor fan advise please!

Started by Li, October 26, 2010, 12:34:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Li

hi, im a newbie - im just about to set up but need some advise from all those who know about extraction & ventilation because im quite clueless!   ???

I phoned progrow and they recommended the box extractor fan - which is the quitest and most powerful  one to use - except its expensive.  (see link)
http://www.progrow.co.uk/acatalog/info_3245.html
Alternatively i understand i can use the RVK fan - which is not as powerful & more noisy. but it is half the price. (see link)
http://www.progrow.co.uk/acatalog/info_314.html
and the third option is to use a normal fan.
my finances are limited - so my question is -can i use a normal fan for a few months until i can afford a proper extractor fan? or it is not recommended & why?
then will the RVK fan at 680m3/hr be sufficient?  ( i am setting up in an art studio which is a big open space size of 2xgarages and there are big glass sliding doors along the front.)

thanks in advance for all your help!
Li  :)

helbels

Hi Li

Ok, first things first. If money is tight you can actually get away with simply opening windows and doors initially. The important thing is to have air circulating and being extracted somehow - not sure that a normal fan would do that - it would probably just blow the air around if you see what I mean, unless you had it fixed in an open window.  Open windows and doors wil be a challenge at this time of year due to the temperature too.

Re: Progrow - these guys know what they are talking about.  If you aren't sure if the cheapervfan is powerful enough, call them back and tell them the size of your studio and they will work it out for you. If they say it's ok then it will be fine.