Problem with cooker hood extractor not working - help!

Started by Blue Box Studio, October 04, 2010, 12:33:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Blue Box Studio

As a newbie I'm trying to keep costs down so was delighted when I managed to get a brand new unused cooker hood extractor through Freecycle that someone had kept in their loft for years.  For 2 months or so it's worked fine, vents outdoors through the standard hole in the wall and flap grid on outside.  It's about the same height from my worktop as a standard hood would be and I'm using a hothead.  I wouldn't have thought the overall heat from the torch would have been more than heat from a cooker and hob?   It worked fine, albeit a bit noisily until a week ago but I'm out there today and the motor is working but the fan isn't.  I've resorted to the manual but it doesn't mention complexities like getting to the motor, nor am I that confident in taking it apart.  DH would be even less use.

So, have I probably fried it?  I'm reluctant to fork out £50 or so for a replacement if this tends to be a problem with this kind of extractor.  Is the motor (presumably the black round thing inside, not much else in there) meant to come apart for cleaning - the manual doesn't cover this so I don't know whether I'm meant to be able to get to the rotating bit.  I've tried a sharp tap to no effect.

Assuming this has got too hot and melted, have I just been unlucky and another one would probably give me years of service?  Would a standard kitchen extractor, ventaxia or xpelair type be OK or have I to spend a lot on this?  I've looked at the Progrow fans which I think a lot of people use but they seem to start at £115, plus tubing etc.

Anyone any suggestions?  Thanks.
Sue
Website ~ Etsy ~ Blog ~ Flickr

stuwaudby