Annealing beads question - hep please

Started by BubblyJ, July 05, 2008, 10:55:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BubblyJ

Hi All,
I am new to this beadmaking......I have bought myself a kiln - Paragon SC2 with bead door.  Today I made some beads and put them on the mandrels into a fibre blanket to cool down.  Can I anneal them now they are cold - on or off the mandrels? and when putting them in from cold, what temperature does the kiln have to be when I put them in, how long do they have to 'cook' for - sorry if this all sounds a bit daft and primitive but, when I was being taught this, we did not really go over this part and the instruction manual for the kiln does not cover this - I would appreciate any help and advice on annealing both from cold and from hot :-\

Rachel B

There is an annealing schedule on here, I`ll just go find the link for you!

Here you go
http://www.frit-happens.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=5808.0

Its what I use for my SC2 and have no probs.  I cool mine in  a fibre blanket for 35 mins , take them off the mandrels and stick them straight onto the kiln shelf and batch anneal.

Use the schdule written out by Kay x

flowerjasper

i use thatprogram  too,
i can fit upto 40-50 in one firing,depending on size ,using cut down mandrels as kebab sticks and a wee wire frame to hold them.
sandy

BubblyJ

Hi again all, thank you for the info, not sure what it all means as this kiln thing is sitting in my studio looking rather menacing - I have not got a clue how to programme it - the manual might just as well be in Japanese - I have written down your suggestion for Kay's programming (whatever that means) and have look at it 2morrow - when my brain is clear.  One thing though, when annealing beads off the mandrel, do you just put them on the kiln shelf? or do they need that special paper stuff on the shelf first (I feel totally useless about all this) help???

flowerjasper