Artista Frit fusing temps PLEASE HELP!!!

Started by bigmac, April 25, 2008, 06:19:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bigmac

Could anybody  tell me the temp to fuse for Artista frit? For full fuse and tack fuse, does the full fuse look like it's melted? and the tack fuse look like glass with a lot of texture?
ALSO does different colour frit  fuse at diff temps.( I only use Artista) And sorry to be a pain but do I have to set my kiln to increase the temp at different stages and then cool down at diff stages? ( I have a flat bed kiln and I'm VERY new to working with glass) sorry for all the questions.
I have fused some frit and it came out very crumbly not clear and has what looked like  tons of wash on the back,I also have replaced the boards in the kiln. I fused small thin shapes as a tester and I don't know what I've done wrong!! I nearly cried when they disintegrated in my hand even though it was a tester!!!:o thanks

Zeldazog

kiln wash stuck to the back is usually a sign that you have fired too high.

I don't know about Artista, I didn't know they did a range of fusing glass.  Isn't there any firing schedules for Artista anywhere?

Will bullseye fusing glasses, although yes, diffrent colours *soften* at different times, fusing is all done at same temperature range.  So, for example, black is softer glass than white, so a small square of black on a bigger white will sit on top, where as a small white on a bigger black will sink right in and the surface will be level (at full fuse that is)

Full fuse, you're right, glass has rounded off, tack fuse, the glass is still squared off (with sheet glass anyway) and does literally look like it has been tacked together.  These things don't happen at absolute points, there is a range within which action will happen.

Don't forget, glass likes to be 6mm thick - so if you're only firing a small amount of frit, it will all try and pull into itself - as for why it was crumbly