Frit-Happens !
June 13, 2021, 09:59:42 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
your ad here
News:
Where are you?? Add yourself to the NEW FHF map here  | On flickr? Join our Frit Happens group: here

VISIT THE WIKI HERE
Get FH Status updates via twitter @FritHappens

 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: IPCO Studio 3000 controller - can anyone help me make it work??  (Read 5785 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
GorgeousGlassGifts
New Forum Member
*
Posts: 21


« on: February 07, 2015, 02:28:21 PM »

 Huh

My second hand kiln has been wired in (an 8kW Kilncare kiln) & I'm trying to get to grips with the controller.
Unfortunately it came with an IPCO Studio 3000, which is more of a pottery kiln controller; each programme only has one hold available, so to have a bubble squeeze, a hold at fusing temperature and an anneal hold, you have to link multiple programmes together.

Of course all of the preset programmes are for pottery, so not a lot of use; I need to set my own programmes.

I've managed to programme in the initial ramp rate, target temperature and hold. I've also managed to tell it to link to another programme. What I can't for the life of me do is then set the parameters for the second programme (i.e. ramp to fusing temperature & hold time). Whenever I try, the kiln just starts the first programme & won't let me enter details for the second one.

Having spent an arm & a leg buying, collecting & getting the kiln installed, it's time that it started to earn its keep. Please can anyone with experience of this controller tell me how to programme it?

Logged
Blue Box Studio
Blue sky thinking & a load of hot air
Forum Member
******
Posts: 963


Just give me the coffee and no one gets hurt!


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2015, 03:02:23 PM »

Did it come with a controller manual?  Found one here, does it help?  If not, and no one here can help, perhaps try one of the pottery suppliers next week, I've always found Bath Potters (in Bath) really helpful.

Good luck, I know how frustrating it is when a kiln won't work, fortunately my glitch was easily sorted.
Logged

flame n fuse
Forum Member
****
Posts: 464


WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2015, 05:46:49 AM »

Have you checked the model type - the document which Sue linked to, suggests that not all the models of this controller will do linking.
Logged
Lee - Kilncare
Forum Member
****
Posts: 445


Kilncare annealing kilns. Designed by listening.


WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2015, 08:50:36 AM »

Hi Gorgeous Shocked)
The first thing you need to do is verify that the version you have can link.
On the rear of the controller there is a label, you wanna see 3000MPL written on it. If you see 3000MP or 3000SP then it won't work.
Linking is a tricky business and one I spent sometime trying to get modernized before we actually got the 3300 up and running.

This is from the instruction book
LINKING (Not applicable to SP and MP models)
At the point of the program entry where ‘End’ is displayed, you may link to another program if a more complex firing cycle is required.
Whilst ‘End’ is displayed in program entry press and hold the secret key under the ‘P’ of IPCO. The ↑ / ↓ keys allow a Ln number to be displayed. When the program is run this link number will direct the controller to continue firing with the values in the ‘linked’ program.
You may make as many links as you wish, however, each link uses up one of your ten programs which are thus not available to be run independently. Also be very careful that you do not link back to a program which is earlier in your current firing cycle, or a continuous loop will result.

Like I say, it does take a bit to get your head around it and I'm here to help if you need it.
Logged


TWITTER @kilncare
VISIT US ON FACEBOOK FOR THE LATEST ON US.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Stoke-On-Trent-United-Kingdom/Kilncare-Ltd/238801689732
GorgeousGlassGifts
New Forum Member
*
Posts: 21


« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2016, 06:10:12 PM »

Sorry Lee; I've only just found your post!  Roll Eyes

Yes, the controller does link programmes. It turned out that the problem was me pausing to write everything down as I went along, with the result that the controller "forgot" what I was trying to do because I was taking so long.
I've got it sussed these days, so long as I don't need to unlink programmes. I'd still like a more user-friendly controller one day though...

Thanks for your words of wisdom, & you can call me "Gorgeous" any time  Grin
Logged
Zeldazog
My name's Dawn, I'm an
Administrator
*******
Posts: 1048


I'm free, to do what I want...♪♪♪


« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2016, 07:30:39 AM »



Yes, the controller does link programmes. It turned out that the problem was me pausing to write everything down as I went along, with the result that the controller "forgot" what I was trying to do because I was taking so long.

I had exactly this sample problem when I was using what I think was the same controller when I borrowed the art room's kiln - hurry, hurry!!
Logged

Lee - Kilncare
Forum Member
****
Posts: 445


Kilncare annealing kilns. Designed by listening.


WWW
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2016, 07:49:52 AM »

Yeh, the IPCO and Stafford controllers all have a time out feature which can be annoying at times. We have had our time out extended on ours to try to reduce the anger  Grin
Logged


TWITTER @kilncare
VISIT US ON FACEBOOK FOR THE LATEST ON US.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Stoke-On-Trent-United-Kingdom/Kilncare-Ltd/238801689732
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.038 seconds with 19 queries.