Stand for kiln

Started by RLBrown, September 27, 2014, 08:33:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

RLBrown

Hi everyone

I'm relatively new to glass fusing but after nearly a year of hiring a kiln, I've decided to buy my own. :)

I'm looking at the Skutt Firebox 14.

I was wondering what sort of 'thing' I could put it on to keep it off the floor.
I guess it would have to be sturdy as the thing ways 50kg.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks

Rachael

oliver90owner

Might give you some idea, from the net.

http://www.delphiglass.com/glass-kilns-accessories/skutt-kilns/skutt-firebox-14-rolling-stand

http://glass-suppliers.com/glass-process-1/process-1-0026.html

How good is your welding?  Maybe use a local steel fabricator?

If you can sit on it safely, it is likely strong enough to support 50kg - only eight stone in old units.

RAB

Zeldazog

Doesn't the Firebox 14 come with it's own stand?  Warm Glass list it as being with one, and show it in the photo.  Looks like the Hot start one, stands about 10/12 inches off high

RLBrown

Hi

It comes with little legs but I was looking for something a bit higher.

I've actually decided to go with the kiln care hobby fuse as it seems like a better option. I don't think I can justify the £300 for the stand. Some other advice I've been given is to use breeze blocks as they are sturdy and cheap.

flame n fuse

you'll need to make sure that it is level on the blocks. (our kiln is on a stand on an uneven floor in the garage and we have to put wedges under one end). But the stand has wheels which is handy.

Moira HFG

I made a sturdy but economical stand with some second-hand Dexion (angle iron with holes for bolts) I found on Gumtree. Total cost about £20.

Always worth checking Gumtree, Preloved and ebay; it's amazing how often someone is getting rid of the very thing you need.

If no luck, breeze blocks sound like a good alternative, providing the structure you make is stable.

bearyboo