Dirty glass - end of tank??

Started by redjay, May 12, 2014, 07:05:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

redjay

I am on a hot head with bulk propane.
I have been torching a lot for the last 12 months.
The last couple of days I am getting really dirty glass. My light ivory is coming up very grubby looking, my sky blue and turquoise are getting browny streaks and bits in it. Most clear glass is getting cloudy and dirty. My flame did look a bit green at times when I torched last night. Has anyone had this before?

I may be getting to the end of my tank possibly would this cause these problems? I cant find a tare weight on the gas so can't weigh it to see how much is left.

Would it be an idea to clean my pipes out when I change the tank this time and if so how would be best to do this.

Any advice would be great thanks.  ???

helbels

Yes, sounds like an end of tank problem to me.   Either that or working too close to the end of the torch.

Try changing the tank, if it fixes it, then no need to clean the pipes :)

Corinne Lacy

To see how much gas is left in the tank pour a kettle full of hot water down the side of the tank. It will cause a condensation line where the gas level is.

Note... Don't do this in your living room!!!

Corinne

tinker

Does sound like you're getting to the end of the tank though, to me - but that tip from Corinne is a new one on me and much appreciated! Thanks Corrinne :)

Corinne Lacy

I originally read about the gas level on FH so just passing it on, mind you I don't know how I remembered it  when I don't know what day of the week it is.....!!!    :D

Corinne

Dragonfire Glass

I tend to listen to the clunk when I hit it. The higher pitched it is, the emptier it is. That and (with the bigger tank especially) how easy it is to lift :D

redjay

Thanks. For that. I'll swap tanks this morning. And that's an excellent tip about the condensation! Thanks so much all :-)

Blue Box Studio