Newbie - Fusers Glue?

Started by BearsDesigns, April 03, 2014, 07:43:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BearsDesigns

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie to glass fusing and this is my first post.

Is fusers glue supposed to be runny like water or thick and gloopy like PVA?
I ask because I'm sure on my beginners course it was thin  but the bottle I bought is all thick.

TAI

Rachael

Trudi

You can get a very thin BE glasstak glue http://www.glassstudiosupplies.co.uk/epages/es137568.sf/en_GB/?ObjectPath=/Shops/es137568/Products/GT01

Personally I'm not a fan .. I like the white PVA glue .. but you only need a small amount on. And let it dry properly before firing!

BearsDesigns

I've bought this stuff
http://www.creativeglassshop.co.uk/product/31276/fusers-glue-fixative-100ml.html
For some reason I was expecting it to be runnier.

A few experiments needed I think.

Trudi

I've never tried it ... but try just a little . I use a cocktail stick or a crafting paint brush.

Glassy Lou

I'm on my mobile so can't really see the glue you've bought - can you water it down? I use pva and I water that down. Trudi's right though - you do need to let it dry thoroughly. It can leave a residue (I think) otherwise. Less is definitely more. 

bob proulx

I have used glasstac and don't like it. I use cheap unscented hairspray fro a pump bottle, works better, cheaper and easy to find when you need it.
Bob

Nicknack

I use glasstac and get on fine with it.  A little seems to go a long way, and you don't have to let it dry before firing.  I've never had any problems with small things, or large (as large as will fit into my SC2, anyway).  PVA is OK for some things, but I mostly use glasstac.

Nick

Glassy Lou

Does the hairspray dry a lot quicker than glue, Bob?

Sarah A

Quote from: bob proulx on April 03, 2014, 10:06:33 PM
I have used glasstac and don't like it. I use cheap unscented hairspray fro a pump bottle, works better, cheaper and easy to find when you need it.
Bob