Hot head torch won't accept MAPP cylinder

Started by polperrobrian, January 28, 2014, 03:52:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

polperrobrian

I'm new to torch work. I brought my torch easily 15 years ago and have only just sat down to try it out! I got a propane canister and a Mapp one. The propane works ok but I wanted to try MAPP to see how much difference a bit more heat might make. The cannister screws on ok but the nozzle thing that goes down the throat of the cannister seems a touch short and I get no gas. The cartridge is new and full. Have I got a propane version (is there such a thing?) or should both cartridges work the same?

When I look down the throat of the Mapp cartridge there seems to be a plastic sleeve that is standing proud where the propane one doesn't - is this normal?

Had some fun but the cost of MAPP was a fright! I will have to change - looks like to bug may have bitten me!

Can anybody help?

Brian

highgardenbeads

Hi Brian - I never had that issue with the MAPP gas canisters not fitting... I didn't try mine with propane though... I'd suggest getting the converter so you can use a large gas canister if you're going to be making a lot of beads.  I went through 4 of the canisters before I realized I could have paid for the attachment for that amount.  I' not using it anymore as I've not upgraded torches to a minor - so if you're interested in buying the converter attachment from me just send me a private message.
x
Ursula

Essex Girl

When I changed from MAPP to propane I had to have an adapter screwed onto the hot head to make it fit.  You may need to remove something from the torch to fit the MAPP!
Karen
x

polperrobrian

Thanks for getting back to me.