Double Helix Please Help

Started by uniquekat123, February 15, 2013, 12:00:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

uniquekat123

Hi Guys Im new to lamp working but not new to glass I am a designer maker in glass and have recently started lamp working and treated myself to some double helix from tuffnell glass.

I was playing with it tonight and found it really hard to strike i am using the pandora rod I tried reducing the flame and that didnt work i tried working with it hot and letting it cool then reheating but that only changes it to a darker colour.

I found when using the rod and putting it back onto the rod rest it changes from the transparent colour to the purple green colour which it strikes as. Please Help thank you in advance :)

Unique Glass Creations

SilverGems89

Pandora is a kiln striking glass, it will strike when it is annealed  :)

helbels

You should also know that it is a horribly tricky glass in general and a lot of us won't use it for that reason. It is supposed to kiln strike as Gemma says but often it doesn't, and if it does, but then you may find that you can never get it to do it again. It is really inconsistent. If you search the threads on here you can read about it and see how some people have got it to work for them in the past. Good luck!!

mel

I've never used pandora before, but the general principle is that striking glass needs to be heated REALLY hot, so its really gloopy and runny-and this sort of 'activates' the pigment, I've heard it being called seeded. The colours come out after cooling and gently reheating but it may be that with Pandora the colours can then come out in the kiln. I don't know if this is relevant to Pandora but it may be worth giving a go.   ???  Terra 2 is an easier one to start with, as is good old Triton. Good luck anyway and let us know if you suss it out.
Laughinglass Lampwork Beads

uniquekat123

Hi Thank you for the comments guys really helpful will try the other colours i have.  :)

flame n fuse