Set up a hot head torch to bulk propane

Started by bearyboo, January 10, 2013, 08:33:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bearyboo

Hello all!

I am new to lampworking and have previously been using mapp gas to light my torch. I have made myself a make shift workshop in our shed and now I want to link it up to a big propane tank.

I have no clue how to do this or what i need to do this! Do i need a flashback arrestor? And what kind of regulator do I need?

Apologies if this has already been posted, I couldn't find it when I searched.

And help will be appreciated.

Danielle xx

And help will be appreciated.

Zeldazog

If you try searching for a keyword, such as 'bulk', using the search box at the top right of the page, you will find loads of posts on the same subject, I am sure you will find answers there (not a lampie myself, so can't help anyway!)

Make sure, when you search, you are at the top level of the forum (click on home, top left tab) to do this - otherwise it will only search the board you are in rather than the whole forum

HTH

helbels

Or if you give Tuffnell Glass a call, they sell a complete kit and will be happy to talk you through exactly what you need to get (and do!) to get set up.

Gordon

The killer is getting the adapter for the hot head and an appropriate regulator for the gas bottle. All in all it's better to get the one sold by Tuffnells and be done with it ( at least you know it's the right thing for the job )

marklaird

I'm using a HH on bulk having started on MAPP gas.

I bought the bulk convertor kit from Tuffnells along with the quick release connector so I can disconnect the propane easily.

Setting it all up was really easy. The pipework comes all connected and ready to go, so it is simply a case of screwing the adaptor onto the bottom of the HH, attaching the HH to your bench (I use the Tuffnells bench kit), and then attaching the other end of the pipework to the propane tank (which I leave outside round the garage door).