Fusing to less than 6mm

Started by doriwallace, December 29, 2012, 04:43:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

doriwallace

I am very new to fusing but have managed to fuse together some sheets of glass with frit and/or millefiori chips and then slump the fused sheets into small dish moulds.   I understand that fully fused glass wants to be about 6mm - i'm finding this a bit too thick for the size of dish i'm making.  Is there a way of fully fusing decorative elements into a glass sheet but maintaining it at 3 - 4mm thickness?

jeannette

Not as far as I can tell and that's only because I've fused a few times and I have read the glass behaviour stuff (as you must have done from your post).
The only way that I think you could do this is to add some weight on top of the glass - put an extra kiln shelf on the top with "some" weights on it and then you could flatten it out, but I expect it would be unpredictable as to how thick it would be and also the final shape of the piece.
Be interested to hear if it's possible as well.

silkworm

When I started going to evening classes in kiln work the tutor encouraged us to use float glass till we got used to cutting etc and I have a lot of pieces I made then using 2mm glass - they do not have as nice rounded edges but were not a total disaster. I have just made some little trinket dishes - two layers of 3mm glass plus frit and though they are nicely rounded after slumping they do look slightly clumsily thick so I would be glad to hear what advice is given.
Mary

micpru