How long will a tank last?

Started by anditsinthefish, September 01, 2012, 09:49:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

anditsinthefish

Hi everyone,

I know this is a complete novice question, but how long do propane tanks last? and what size do you all use? I can't decided weather to have a 6kg or 13kg. My other thought is the weight of a full tank, I need to take it up one flight of stairs. I know I can lift 13kg because I used to have to lift 21kg of fish at work, but up a flight of stairs... I'm not so sure.

Sarah x
Sarah xx
Website. Blog. Flickr.

Krysia@No98

so the first question is what type of torch are you on?

The tank will last much much longer with a duel fuel torch.

The second thing to factor in is cost, per kg it will be less to get a 13kg tank.

If you get your gas delivered then the delivery man can take it up the stairs for you.  I guess the more important question would be if you needed to get it out in a hurry (In that exceptionally unlikely event)  I have a 13 and won't go bigger as I know I can;t shift a 19 on my own.

Lastly how easy is it for you to get refills?  There is NOTHING more frustrating then not having gas. 

If you what times for tanks I'll look up what I have tomorrow for you.  i have a log of who long I spend on the torch each session and tie that to each tank so i can sort of gauge how long each lasts for.
-* -  Courage is going from failure to failure with out loosing enthusiasm -*-

anditsinthefish

I am currently on a hot head, but I will be moving to a duel fuel when I go onto bulk propane. Yeah I saw on the colar website it was about another £6 for over double the amount of gas. I can't see getting gas to be a problem, but I'm not entirely sure.

Aw that would be a great help if you don't mind. I have no idea as mapp hardly lasts at all!

Sarah x
Sarah xx
Website. Blog. Flickr.

Enchanted Cobwebs