float glass slumping - Nabertherm Kiln/Kaiserlee board

Started by chas, April 09, 2012, 01:49:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chas

hi, forum newbie here... though I've made quite a few reasonable bowls in shop-bought moulds, so not exactly a newbie slumper, I'm stumped by this:

I'm trying to make a small rectangular plate (9" x 6") in 4mm float glass with two indents about 3" dia and 1/2inch (say 15mm) deep. I've cut a 10x7 piece of KL board through to half thickness (ie gives a drop of about half an inch) and cut out my indents right through, then placed it on Thinfire paper in the bottom of the kiln.

So far, in 4 firings on varying schedules, I've failed to get the 'indents' dropped through to give a flat-bottomed finish - they stay resolutely in rounded-bottom form. I have cut a channel on the underside of the board to make an airvent.

Are there additional stresses incurred in double-dropping that make it particularly difficult? Can't see why there should be...
Can anyone suggest a schedule, please?

Chas

GaysieMay

I'm not really much of a fuser, but on my bought molds they have tiny air holes, could it be that you need to let air escape so as to fill the indents?  Just a thought.  :-\
www.GaysieMay.etsy.com
www.facebook.com/gaysiemay

chas

Thanks for the speedy and encouraging response, GM - but I thought of that after go No. 3 and cut air escape channels into the underside of the slab - and cut another mould without as a comparison. Firing No. 4 has resulted in similar rounded results to earlier firings and with no real difference between the two moulds in the same firing... if that makes sense.

I have strayed beyond 'normal' programmer settings, altering time and heat but feel I could experiment forever before I blunder onto a schedule that works.