Help! - what am I doing wrong???

Started by Grody, November 09, 2011, 07:52:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Grody

Hi

Done a reasonable amount of (self-taught) fusing over the last few years but now tip-toeing into slumping. Had OK success with shallow stuff i.e candle bridges, sushi dishes, etc - but now having dire results from first two attempts at a deeper square dish - see pics below.

The first attempt with Dish 1 (6mm fully fused) didn't go to a high enough temp so the base didn't drop to the centre of the mould, then re-fired it higher but found a thick edge around the base and a ballooned centre.

Dish 2 below (5mm fully fused: opal on Tekta) didn't do any better. Mould had 5 coats and was kiln-dried to 200c before use. Air holes were fully clear.

Slumping prog for Dish 2 was: 220/hr > 710 (30 min): AFAP > 480 (30 min): 56/hr > 370 (1 min): end.

End result:
- edges pulled-in around perimeter (cushion-shaped)
- thick edge around underside but with major ballooning of centre (see shadow from skewer used to show profile)
- underside of sides have pronounced texture (cellulite?)

It's not a good look and I'm clearly doing something very wrong - but what? Too fast, too slow, too hot, too cold. Your help would be appreciated!

1_Pb090973_500px by tjkniveton, on Flickr

2_Pb090972_500px by tjkniveton, on Flickr

3_Pb090970_500px by tjkniveton, on Flickr

4_Pb090974_500px by tjkniveton, on Flickr

helbels

I know nothing about slumping, but to be honest with you, if you hadn't told me any of the stuff above, I'd have thought it was really pretty!!!!!!

hollergrafik

is the hole blocked in the bottom of the mold? slower ramp will help too

Lilley