Glassline Pens

Started by anna0773, September 29, 2010, 05:45:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

anna0773

Hi everyone,

Have any of you used Glassline pens? I used one for the first time today and the colour completely disappeared when fired. What did I do wrong?
I used a base of cream opal glass, then the pen (gold metallic) and a piece of clear glass on top.
Should I have let the 'paint' dry before firing?
I am using a microwave kiln at the mo. to see if I like doing stuff with glass. I've had it for about 2 weeks to I'm just a beginner.

Thanks for your help.  :)

Hotglass28

Umm, not sure about that, esp as your using a microwave pot.

I have used black with no problem whatsoever. (normal kiln fired) 
Give it another go but leave it uncapped. If the gold disapears again then I shall assume the microwave is eating the colour in some bizzare microwave way ::).  Did you even get a ghost of the glassline in the sandwich?

Denise
www.facebook.com/pages/The-Owl-Goes-Hoot/567182803365298
www.etsy.com/uk/shop/TheOwlGoesHoot?ref=l2-shopheader-name

Hotglass28

Oh, and, love your cat. I'm a sucker for black cats AND what do you mean IF you like playing with glass?   You WILL get hooked, esp if you befriend someone with a bigger kiln so you can do loads at a time instead of one or two.  ;)

How are you getting on with the microwave kiln, you like?   
www.facebook.com/pages/The-Owl-Goes-Hoot/567182803365298
www.etsy.com/uk/shop/TheOwlGoesHoot?ref=l2-shopheader-name

Bluebottle

If the Glassline pen is a true metallic gold then microwaves will probably destroy it, just try putting metallic patterned china in a microwave and watch the "fireworks" very pretty but doesn't do your microwave much good LOL  HTH

Mike   ;D

Trudi

I was thinking about trying one of those pens - do you need to buy the separate nibs or can you use them as you buy them?

Ta

Warm Glass UK