Kiln Shelf Help

Started by kakirra, August 03, 2010, 08:54:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kakirra

Hi everyone,

I had a dilema of whether or not this post would go in this section or the kiln section but I figured it wasn't a question about a kiln, just the kiln shelf.  If it's the wrong place, I'm really sorry.

I'm new to fusing glass but have had a few successful attempts.  I use a Paragon Sc2 kiln with the shelf kit that comes with it.  Before using it the first time, I put 10 coats of wash on to the shelf.  However after 3 or 4 firings the wash has come off in several places.

I attempted to clean the rest of it off tonight so that I could put a fresh coating of wash on it.  I held it under a running tap and then scrubbed at it with a toothbrush.

I'm wondering if I've done the right thing now.  I've put a layer of wash on and it hasn't soaked in like it did last time.  Now it's suddenly dawned on me that it's completely waterlogged.  Have I ruined my shelf by getting it water logged?  I don't want it to suddenly explode on me if there is still some water in the centre that hasn't dried out when I come to fire it.  Am I being paranoid?  How long do I need to leave it to dry out before I put the next layer of wash on?

Thanks

Yvonne
x

Zeldazog

No you won't have ruined your shelf by getting it wet.  But you do need to dry it out thoroughly before you fire anything on it.

When I re-coat my shelves, I fire the shelf, empty, up to around 200C and hold for about half an hour, let it cool before I use it (I actually have two shelves, so sometimes, if the kiln is on, I dry the second shelf on the top when the kiln is on)

For future reference, it's much easier to clean the old wash off dry.  Make sure you wear a dust mask and use a green pot scrubber, and you will find the previous wash will come off quite easily.  It's a lot harder to get off when you wash it (And it saves drying issues)