Bead Presses

Started by mummydude, July 11, 2010, 08:35:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mummydude

Hi all,

Can I ask a question? do you all use bead presses?
I am a newbie and finally saved up to get a couple of presses so I bought a lentil / pillow and the itty bitty press from tuffnells. I tried making a lentil which seemed to take FOREVER (I'm on a HH btw) and ended up squashing glass out of the edges, so I tried the itty bitty press as I obviously am far too impatient to make big beads and ended up chipping off the bead release when I placed the mandrel in the press (is this normal?)

Anyway... I stuck with it and made a load of spacer beads but they are so small I cant really decorate them so I feel its quicker to make round spacer beads without using a press  :-\

So back to my question....

Does everyone uses presses? should I stick with it or maybe try a different press? or does it just take practise?

Vix
x   

julieHB

It just takes practise...  :D :D
Julie xx

My Webbie - My Flickr

Mand

Yup, Julie's right, pratise practise practise!  Pillow presses are a bit tricky I found.  I have a few lentils and a kalera which I adore.  I recently purchased a cattwalk standard crunch press which is fab to use as you can be a bit "random with your glass sizing.  Try marking the size of your intended lentil with a pencil on your mandrel measuring against the press before you start to make a bead, if that makes sense?   Things do take longer on a HH .... ;)

Good luck.

sarah t

i use them and love em ...but thats just me ......they do take a fair bit of practise ...and after while you get a feel for how much glass each one uses ..(the squishy sides is usually to much glass )

DellaUK