How do you get the silver cores into beads then, eh?

Started by Mand, April 11, 2008, 04:53:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mand

Hi

I am perplexed. I'm also a newbie, so that will explain my question. How on earth do you get a silver core into a glass bead? ??? I haven't even got my torch and bench set up yet, but I am truly intruiged. Can anybody who has the patience of a saint explain HOW, please?  :-X

(I obviously won't be attempting this feat for quite some time as I need to learn how NOT to melt a mandrel first, and also how to make a ROUND, even bead of course.... but ya know how the mind buzzes with all those "how do they do that" questions....)(Maybe it's a good question for Des Lynam who does the programme to look into...)

glassworks

three basic ones i have heard of....

1.. the "hard" way - silver tube and dapping punches, lots of patience and tears but by far the best technique when learnt

2.. the "glue in" split silver cores, still works well enough but has issues with seams and getting things to line up

3... the "cheat" machine from some guys in the states.. saw pati demo'ing this in murano and it looks easy enough, but not as fine quality as hand beating it!!!

anyone else?...

Isabelle

I think it has something to do with swearing! And crying and tantruming - and some more swearing - and what Quinton said!

Billie

beads-on-toast

Quote from: glassworks on April 11, 2008, 05:07:29 PM
three basic ones i have heard of....

1.. the "hard" way - silver tube and dapping punches, lots of patience and tears but by far the best technique when learnt

2.. the "glue in" split silver cores, still works well enough but has issues with seams and getting things to line up

3... the "cheat" machine from some guys in the states.. saw pati demo'ing this in murano and it looks easy enough, but not as fine quality as hand beating it!!!

anyone else?...

i don't agree, and i don't think Andrea Guarino would either, it is not a cheat way, just a different way