Sievert Torch OK and will I blow myself up!?

Started by FireLily, January 31, 2008, 04:13:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

FireLily

Hello :-)

I'm new to Lampworking - infact set up my torch today! As I am a bit scared of the gas - flame - buring down my house (!) thing I went into Bristol Gasworks and it turns out the guy there has supplied a few bead makers with torches. Anyway, I bought a Sievert (looks quite like the hothead?) and am running this off bulk propane.

Well I managed to make 4 tragic little beads. I've got a selection of ASK, Effetre and CIM. I used them separately, although I understand they do mix? Anyway - they are all brown!!

So my questions are -
1. Is the torch OK?
2. I gather I am holding the bead too low in the flame?

Anyway, I have posted a pic of my set up and of the tragic tribe... If you can believe it, the glass was originally yellow, orange and green!!! Would be grateful if anyone would take a look and let me know if I'm about to blow myself up!!

Thank you!!
Anna

[attachment deleted by admin]

Vicki

Hi Anna ;D

I have no idea how to answer your questions as my torch doesn't look like that, but welcome ;D  Where do you live?

xVx

Josephine

A Sievert is designed to run on propane but it is meant for silversmithing. A hothead is designed specially for beadmaking either on Mapp or propane. I've never heard of a sievert being used for beadmaking and I would guess that the mix of air and propane isn't right. Perhaps someone with more technical knowledge of torches can be of more help.

Black Heart Beads

Hi Anna,

I just wanted to say welcome. Sorry I cant help you with the problem but I am sure someone will be along any time now who can.

FireLily

Thank you!
I'm in Bristol :-) I went for a day's course with Sally Carver, which was brilliant. Really loved it, but a bit sad that these don;t quite look like the ones I made with Sally! Hey ho - onwards and upwards! ( I hope!!)

x

sparrow