Ventilation

Started by loulou3012, January 24, 2008, 09:44:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

loulou3012

Hi Everyone ,
As a newbie I am becoming conserned about the ventilation i have in the room when I am working . I have read the threads I can find about it but must say I am now confused !
I work an a room the size of a normal garage as we have had it converted and is now part of the house .  I work down the far end with the windows being at the other end where the door used to be . At present I just opan all the windows when I am working which I must say with the windy weather is not idle .
So am I better off getting one of the hydroponic fans or a cooker hood . The problem I have is whichever option I go for do I need the silver tubing to go out the window because if I do  that is going to mean getting the tubing to go from one end of the room to the other ! Or if I get a cooker hood can I just get one that dosent have a tube ? (like the one in my kitchen ) ?
Any advice would be gratefully received .
Many Thanks
Louise 

Mary

You do need to get rid of the fumes and let clean air in. Even with the window open, if I forget to switch my fan on I notice the difference.
I don't know whether hydroponics or cooker hood would be better for you, but I do know you need ducting. Recirculating hoods use a carbon filter to take out the grease and smell, but I wouldn't trust it to remove fumes and nasties. Could you move nearer to the window? Long ducting is a lot less effective so you'd need a more powerful fan.
It's all very complicated, but worth getting it right!

Katiequiggle

At the moment I have two windows open behind me and the double doors of the shed open and the air whistles around me so I am hoping that the fumes are going out of one of the exits.  I am actively looking for an extractor fan though and as soon as I find a very cheap or free on freecycle its going in.

dinah46