Advice on fusing method for ice lollies

Started by Flowers, July 15, 2020, 10:40:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Flowers

Hello I would really like to make something cheerfull and jolly for a friend of mine who is in lockdown overseas and thought I would have a go (I am still a novice!) at fused glass ice lollies.  I had a go at making a small one by cutting out a 3mm clear tekta lolly shape and then adding 3mm coloured tekta over the top and fusing it on 3mm glass but it all went wobbly and the edges wiggled!  I know it was because I had 9mm instead of 6mm.  So I have tried again by cutting the shapes for my lollies out of 3mm tekta and they will then sit on a 3mm tekta glass.  But now I am stuck.  I do not know whether to do a tack fuse or a full fuse.  There are lots of beautiful ice lollies to be see on a google search but I can't tell whether they have been fully or tack fused.  Or now I am reading about contour fuse and I am not sure if this is the same as a tack fuse.  What should I opt for.
Thank you so much for any advice.

Dietmar

Hi !

Just to get in line with your description...
- You want to have lollies on a clear backgroend as on a picture frame? In this case  cut a clear layer for the full surface exept for the lollies. This will melt and push against the colored glass, keeping it in the original shape. That works at all temperatures, best at full fuse.

- If you want the lollies in 3D on the background, forget about the second layer clear and tack fuse on Schott-Artista clear. Artista is stiffer than Bullseye and holds the shapes better. For super stiff sticks use Schott AR-rods. There is a significant difference in the viscosity: (stiff) AR>Artista>Uroboros90>Bullseye (soft).