I need a bit of advice on kilns

Started by Jules1971, November 09, 2016, 07:45:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jules1971

Hi Everybody,

im new to this sort of thing but my main interest is slumping and forming new things out of bottles and glass.
but my main question that im pondering is:

Would a gas fired kiln be suitable for slumping the reason i ask this is that im a gas engineer by trade and do this for a living running my business.
so i would ideally like to build my own kiln so i have more control over the size and accessibility inside.

i will more than likely move onto making all sorts of stuff in the future but at the moment i just want to do slumping to gain confidence and move on from there

any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Zeldazog

From my knowledge of kilns, and gas kilns for ceramics, I can see no reason, theoretically, why you couldn't use a gas fired kiln.  The reduction process isn't normally used in glass fusing and slumping (I've only heard mention of reducing flames for lamp-worked glass), but of course gas kilns don't have to be, and are not always, reducing.

However, firing glass involves long and extended firings, and one of the most important aspects of glass fusing & slumping is the controlled cool down and anneal soak.

From memory, when we fired the gas kilns at Uni, we never left the gas kilns unattended - until it had finished heating, then the gas was switched off and the kiln allowed to cool down naturally.  With glass, you have a controlled cool down to ensure that stress is removed and not re-introduced in to the glass.  The larger or thicker the piece, the more important this section is, and the longer it has to be.