Is it possible to fuse a wine/drinking glass?

Started by Flowers, July 01, 2016, 10:20:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Flowers

Hi I am totally stumped and I think all you clever glass fuse re can help me with this question.
The other day my friend came over she recently became engaged asked me if she could give me the wine glass/drinking glass that she and her hubby had toasted their engagement with to make into something pretty she said she did not kind if I wanted to break the glass into smaller pieces etc to make something else with it.
I was totally flummoxed as I am still learning what glass can do and I know glass needs to be COE compatible and I have no idea what a drinking/wine glass COE would be.  I also don't know if I would be able to mix Bullseye with it to add colour.
Is it possible to recycled a wine glass/glass ? (I know it can be done with bottles)  How do I go about this and what sort of kiln schedule would be required? (I have a Hobbyfuser 3)
Can I add colour or mix with Bullseye glass?
I really want to have a crack at this (excuse the pun) I know it would make my friend so happy.
Thank you for your advice and kind help.

Zeldazog

I have no idea what wine glasses would be made of, but it almost certainly will *not* be compatible with Bullseye.

As the COE/compatibility would be unknown, testing would be essential if you wanted to mix them with other glass, although, like bottle or window glass, it should be okay to fuse to itself.

- although again, theoretically there is no guarantee that even the two wine glasses could be mixed together as they might not be from the same batch of glass, unless you know for sure they were made at the same time; the trouble with all but fusing glass is that there is no requirement for different batches of the same glass to be compatible as they've never been designed to be melted together.  That said, chances are they are from the same factory, same recipe so *should* be compatible.