Help! total newbie question about Bullseye

Started by mummydude, June 02, 2015, 04:08:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mummydude

Hi there, I hope someone can help or point me in the right direction....

I've been lampworking for years now but have never used my kiln (beadcube) for anything other than annealing. I am currently working on a stained glass commission where I am needing a vibrant pink. I have bought a sheet of Bullseye light pink iridescent striker to use, however I have NO idea what I'm doing with it! Can I strike the piece of glass in my kiln first to then cut and use in the stained glass project? and if so any ideas how I would go about this? temperature / time etc?

Any advice would be great

thanks

Vix

Zeldazog

Check out the Bullseye glass website for lots of information on their glass - there is also an online forum you can join and ask questions, several B/E tech people are on it regularly.

I have no idea what temperature the pink will strike at, it may vary from piece to piece.  As a fuser, I take most colours/types to full fusing temperatures, but they may well strike below that.

If you can, you'd want to take it not as high as fusing, because I am assuming you're working with single thickness glass - at full fuse, the glass will try to pull in and become 6mm thick - on a small single layer, this sometimes will result in a 'dog-boning' effect and it may dip in the middle.

But in answer to the question, yes you can fire a piece, make sure you anneal it properly and then cut it.  There's plenty of Bullseye firing schedules around, here, Bullseye, Warm-Glass UK, etc

Pat from Canvey