bullseye v tekta fusing temperatures

Started by shafeenan, January 17, 2015, 11:34:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

shafeenan

I'm very new to fusing and have been practicing on tekta glass (cheap) but now want to start fusing some bullseye.
I've got the fusing temps just right in my SC2 for the tekta. So I need your experience - will bullseye need higher temps?
Also - if I fire 2 shelves, will I get the same results on both levels? and how much space would I need between the shelves - I only have 8 shelf props and 2 shelves!
thanks

flame n fuse

Hi Shafeenan
Tekta glass is made by bullseye. It's a bit cheaper than their other clear. Fusing temps should be the same.
I've never used 2 shelves in my SC2. I think you might have problems with uneven temperatures.
I expect there are others here who will comment on this.

jackiesimmonds

I was reading something yesterday...possibly on the Bullseye site but I am not sure...it clearly said NOT to use two shelves when firing glass, you will definitely get uneven heating in the kiln if you do.

shafeenan

thank you both - gosh but the file of info in my workroom gets bigger and bigger!

Nicknack

I've never tried 2 shelves, but was told that if  used in the SC2 that one would full fuse and the other would tack fuse.  When I got my Fusion 10 the lady I bought it from let me have a second shelf, but said that when she had tried it, neither shelf fused properly - if one worked, the other one didn't even achieve a tack fuse.

Hope that helps.

Nick

shafeenan

Thanks - rather what I suspected, but had been living in hope!

Lakelady

I've tried two shelves - the only one that worked really well was a full B/E fuse on top and a float slump on the bottom...still experimenting.  Have fun!
Turner Rowe Glass Art

Zeldazog

Tekta glass is the same formulation as Bullseye, the difference is that Tekta is machine rolled which is why it gets that really smooth side, whereas Bullseye is hand-rolled