Main Menu

wire for hot glass

Started by mel, September 13, 2014, 01:30:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mel

Can anyone advise please. I need to be able to either make or buy a wire finding which I will apply to glass by dotting on some molten glass and plunging the wire in so it fuses. The finding will be a small loop, say a 6mm jump ring with a prongy bit, maybe 4mm long sticking out to insert into the molten glass. So the wire will be part of the piece when it is finished, and will have to go into the kiln as the piece will need annealing so needs to look good and not get tarnished or blackened. So, if I use silver (my preferred option), what will the heat do to it, likewise stainless steel or other metal. Any solutions out there? or suggestions? Thx.
Laughinglass Lampwork Beads

helbels

I think you'll need to pickle it after it comes out of the kiln, but I'm no expert.  Hopefully someone else will be along shortly with more knowledge than me.

Lakelady

Sterling will blacken.  Try fine silver findings - the ones used for silver clay should be ok, so long as you don't melt the silver in!  I use fine silver wire for my headpins and that is fine after firing.
Turner Rowe Glass Art

mizgeorge

Fine silver is OK, but will be very soft after use and especially after annealing, and it's almost impossible to work harden.

Nichrome would be the usual choice, but isn't suitable for jewellery use because of the nickel regulations.

ajda