Pink ribbons

Started by HelenM, March 07, 2014, 12:51:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

HelenM

Hi , I am new to this forum and not sure if this is the best section to post in but I'm hoping somebody out there might be able to help. I have been playing with fusing glass for a few years, mainly making jewellery and slumped dishes from bullseye CoE90 glass. I would like to make some pendants for a group of friends who are going to a breast cancer charity ball in the summer (men are wearing pink bow ties, we thought it would be nice for the ladies to have pink pendants). Initially I was going to make some pendants from various colours of pink / white glass so that they are all different but the same colours. Then somebody asked if I could make a pink ribbon. From my research on the net it appears there are no copyright issues but making a stylised pink ribbon out of glass is my problem.

My first experiment was with two layers of 3mm glass which I full fused together around a piece of fibre paper to leave a loop in the centre. I used a darker glass for the top of the loop and 2 shades for the arms of the ribbon. This didn't quite work as the 2 arms fused together at the bottom and I was left with what looks like a pink Christmas stocking with a hole through the top. Where the different shades of glass were adjacent to each other they don't have crisp edges.

My second experiment was with fine frit / powder which I have not used before. After lots of research I thought this was worth a try as it would be easier to control the shading in the glass. However I was unable to make a mould from fibre paper successfully and even though I did get the shape OK it was not smooth and even after 2 firings with more frit being added the pieces are very thin and have very jagged edges. I found it very difficult to get the frit where I wanted it to go and impossible to brush off the fibre paper surface.