Any easy bead ideas

Started by alan, July 01, 2014, 09:48:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

alan

Hi,

As a newbie, I'm still learning how the glass flows and reacts and I'm happy with some beads I made yesterday using gravity to make a random stretched pattern. I have tried dots from stringers but the end results are poor. While I'm still practicing, are there any other kinds of beads that are relatively easy to make (without dots!) that I can try - my enthusiasm is pretty low at the moment as apart from my gravity ones, everything else turns out a bit naff so I'm looking for ideas that are simple and have that wow factor.

Thanks

A

Nicknack

Frit beads are easy.  Just make your bead, roll it in frit and melt in, either partially or completely.  They look good, too.

Nick

Skyblue

Hi Alan
Another easy one, just make a round bead and then add a stripe round it with a different colour, they look pretty effective too.:) Or after adding frit like nick suggested, once its melted in, then add a thin stripe around .

lampworklover

Just sit and play.

When I started, I got a pile of cheap(er) glass, and just sat and practised making different shaped beads. It was only really after that that I worried about surface decoration, dots and stringer control etc. I found that the satisfaction in mastering a nice bead with puckered ends was enough to spur me on...

ajda

When I started I was useless at fine detail - dots, stringer control, etc - and I'm still not great, thanks to shaky hands! I found it good to concentrate on colour combinations rather than particular patterns or designs. Sometimes I'd just experiment at random, sometimes trawl through pictures of other people's work shamelessly borrowing colour schemes that I liked.