To those who pay VAT

Started by Hotglass28, June 04, 2014, 12:43:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hotglass28

Would it be a good idea to save up the scrap glass and declare it to the VAT people when needed. I'm new to this so please excuse the stupidity.  I did all this a while back but have forgotten everything, plus someone else was handling it for me.

Now I need to be more active in all this ie stock taking, filing receipts, postage costs.....blah blah blah  it all is very..... scary.

I will talk to the accountant in a couple of months I should imagine.  Not sure she would be familiar with Lampworkers though

And stock taking!!!?  All my rods?  including my personal stash before I started selling?

I'd be grateful for help if you have a wee bit of time.
www.facebook.com/pages/The-Owl-Goes-Hoot/567182803365298
www.etsy.com/uk/shop/TheOwlGoesHoot?ref=l2-shopheader-name

Flyingcheesetoastie

Personally, I'm not going to be VAT registered until I get over the threshold for it as I can't really see the benefit in doing it before hand.  The VAT I pay and could claim back on materials & energy etc is minimal compared to the VAT I'd have to charge customers and the admin it would create.

But congratulations if you are up at that turnover that you have to be registered!

DementedMagpie

VAT (I'm assuming you are registered for it, which a lot of people don't actually need to be): you can claim it back on your business expenses only if you've got the receipt which says what the VAT amount actually is, and the receipt has to be less than 3 years old (unless you've only just registered, in which case it's less than that).

The personal stash from before you started selling: depends if you're using it for the stuff you're sellling. If you are, then the cost is a business expense and tax deductible, but it should be included in the stock take if you're doing one.