Advice for a Flame Off "Virgin"

Started by Purplicious, April 06, 2014, 10:14:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Purplicious

I'll be at the Flame Off on Friday. Although I've been lampworking for quite a few years, I've never made it to a Flame Off before, so I'm really excited about finally getting there :). Does anyone have any advice about how to get the most out of it?

Thanks,

Kathy

amareargentum

Make the most of the demos, they are great. And don't forget a notebook to jot down all the useful tips. I did the first year, it never occurred to me that I would need one! Most of all enjoy it  :)

Pauline

have some idea of the glass you already have so you don't duplicate what you already have.
Go straight to the bauble blowing and book your session ( ;D ;D ;D) then go round without buying getting and idea of what there is and orientate yourself............ then just jump in with both feet, say hello to everyone in wearing a badge, watch as much as you can, play with different torches, watch a demo, buy stuff cos you can see it, feel it (and lick it)

helbels

Talk to people! Even random strangers. I thought my first Flame Off was crap, cos I saw everything there was to see by lunchtime and thought "is that it?". Then the second time I realised that what really makes the event is chatting to fellow glassy folk and now I love it!

Nicknack

Quote from: helbels on April 07, 2014, 12:10:00 AM
Talk to people! Even random strangers. I thought my first Flame Off was crap, cos I saw everything there was to see by lunchtime and thought "is that it?". Then the second time I realised that what really makes the event is chatting to fellow glassy folk and now I love it!

Definitely!  It's lovely to be able to put faces to names.  Last year (my first FO) I was in awe at meeting all these people who made such wonderful beads I'd been admiring on here, but they were all really nice and friendly.

Nick

james M knox

Visit the torches,