What does hand made mean to you?

Started by Irene, January 09, 2014, 03:48:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Irene

I wonder what does hand made mean to you?  How much of your jewelry can be made from ready-bought items and still be "hand made". If at all.  I am still quite new to this jewelry making, and have only made something for my self and for family for Christmas.  So I have not sold anything yet. But if I ever make jewelry good enough to be sold, I would like to know if they can be named "hand made" or not.  I make my own lampwork beads, and the clasps and pins and such I think I will for the most part make my self. But I don't make the chains and often not the jumprings and such things.  I would like to combine my own beads with Swarovski beads and Miyuki beads and the like. And with Tibetan beads a.s.f.   Would it still be considered hand made? What do you think?

anditsinthefish

I am the same, I make most of mine but not the chains or the claps and sometimes not the jump rings either. I would consider mine handmade defiantly! There are people who buy all the components and I would still class it as handmade. Some is just more skilled than others. If you feel your work is handmade (I do) then sell I would sell it as handmade :)
Sarah xx
Website. Blog. Flickr.

mel