Glass sculpturing?

Started by Tonyb, November 07, 2013, 12:38:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tonyb

Hi,

Hopefully I'm in the right place for some advice. I have never sat behind a torch but have always wanted to try making small glass sculputres and ornaments from melting glass - similar to this example:

http://www.rennart.co.uk/images/glassreindeer.jpg

Is this still called lampworking and does anyone on here do this - or is it known as something else?

Does anyone know if the equipment I would need is the same as that used for beadwork - will a HH torch be suitable?

Thanks all. Tony

www.beadables.co.uk

Skyblue

Hello Tony im not an expert by any stretch of the imagination and im sure there are others on here that can give you very good advice. But my brother makes similar things to the picture you have shown and he uses a nortel minor torch, it is the same set up as lampworking and I anneal his little figures in my kiln. Im not sure if a hothead is suitable as I have never used one, I suppose it depends on how big you want to make the little animals etc and what kind of glass you want to use. My brother uses coe 104. Now hopefully somebody else will be able to give you some more in detail advice. :) Good luck ! its a fascinating hobby.:)

Redhotsal

Hi Tony,
Yes, it is called lampworking. Bob Martin is a bit of a master at this type of thing. He made a video on how to do it all which you may find really useful. You can buy it from my website:

http://www.redhotsal.co.uk

Can't seem to post a link to the actual page but just choose beadmaking DVDs from the Menu. Bob demos quite a few animals such as Bambis, Badgers, Pigs and so on.