Hot Head vs. Dual Torch

Started by Yeske, August 22, 2013, 04:01:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Yeske

Hello everyone.

I currently work with a hot head because it was cheaper (I'm a poor student ^^) but I'm considering buying a dual torch as soon as I have the money because 1) it isn't as noisy and 2) you can control the flame (red/ox). My question is: are there any other differences between these two types of torches?

Also, do you recommend an oxygen tank or a concentrator (or any other means of providing oxygen)? Lastly: say that I wanted to use borosilicate in the distant future.. what features should the dual torch have? Should it be a special brand for extra hotness or something?

:) Greetings

helbels

Hi Yeske

Hotheads are great for learning on, or when you are getting started, because as you say they are cheap and really give you the chance to decide if you like this craft before you spend a lot more money.

Hotheads basically have a flame that's bushy, that's harder to control than dual fuel - ie: you can't control how much oxygen or how much propane is in the flame.   Also, because you are limited to drawing in the oxygen that's naturally in the air, the flame can't get as a hot as a duel fuel torch.  This has both pros and cons - a positive aspect of this is that you can get a "feel" for the glass more easily and control where you want it to go more easily - it won't get so hot that it runs away from you.  Generally though, the relatively low heat will mean it takes you longer to do everything - and you will seriously struggle to make large beads, because the glass won't get hot enough to move about easily.