Decals

Started by lddlsa, September 17, 2013, 08:51:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lddlsa

Does anyone have any advice on fusing decals please, I purchased some from Bailey Decal and the colours have fired quite pale particularly the red.  I am confused as to whether I have fired then too high, too low and if I need to vent the kiln to get rid of the binders burning off and to help colours develop.  It is my first try with decals and I have a lot to learn so any help would be very much appreciated.

Zeldazog

Might be useful if you told us what temperature you fired them to before asking if you fired too high?

Reds are notoriously difficult colours in decals (as they are in ceramic glazes too) are probably the worst (or best  ;D) at losing their colour. 

Also, what glass did you fire them on?  Did you sandwich or put them on the top? 

Do remember, they *are* designed for ceramics not glass, so you can't always rely on the results if you're not firing them on the material they were made for.

lddlsa

Hi Zeldazog, Good point  :) I fired them at 760 degrees which in my kiln is enough for a full fuse using Bullseye glass.  I fired some on top of two layers of 3mm and some in between the two layers sprinkled with a fine layer of clear powder.

Zeldazog

I would guess that your kiln is firing hot if you're getting a full fuse at 760 - colours, especially reds, do burn out at 800 degrees, which yours must be about at in real terms.

I've had some reds and pinks turn brown against french vanilla due to it being a reactive glass.

lddlsa

Thank you for that info....I must go and check my firing log as I have the memory of a goldfish, I think I also tried fusing them at a lower temperature too.  I have fired them onto white but will remember (hopefully) not to fire onto French Vanilla  :)

Flyingcheesetoastie