kiln help... what one?

Started by Lilacpixie, January 01, 2013, 12:44:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lilacpixie

I am looking at kilns and confused as heck.

I am a newbie lampworker, not that good but currently I just cool beads to avoid thermo shock, I have no eay to anneal them, obviously if I ever hope to sell beads ir creations made with them I need to anneal them so I am looking gor prodominantly an annealing kiln but I have did a teeny bit of fusing using one of those microwave fuseing pots and  I love the look of slumping, I fell in love with a blue slumped bottle cheese board at a fair I did in september and I'm still regretting mot buying it.

Space is questionable, we don't have a garage but my husband is building me a wooden workshop in the garden for my torch etc.  A kiln could possibly be sited in there assuming the pissible coldness isn't an issue.

I have been looking at beadcube but I couldn't slump bottles in it as too small and I worry I would outgrow it. I saw a kiln on ebay that seems similar to beadcube but half the price so I wondered about that to start then upgrade but I do worry about the quality of kiln at that price. I currently use pmc a lot but torch fire.

Zeldazog

Hi Lilacpixie

This is a question that comes up time and time again, and there is no one answer.  Basically, there isn't any ONE kiln that will do everything - if you look at a kiln big enough to fuse wine bottles, you won't be able to anneal as you go - and it would be such a big kiln, you'd be making beads everyday for a month or two before you got enough to batch anneal.  I'd be happy if I had several kilns to cover all jobs  ;D ;D

Basically, you have to decide what the MAIN use of it will be, and go with that.

The kiln on Ebay - did it have a full digital controller?  That is usually a major part of kiln cost - you can fuse and anneal in a kiln with just a pyrometer, but you need to sit and watch it and adjust it through the whole programme.