How do you know if you are underselling yourself?

Started by qwirkyglass, October 22, 2012, 04:56:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

qwirkyglass

Hi,

this is a problem that i have stuggled with for ages, and i was wondering if anyone else has this problem.
I feel at the moment like i might be under valueing / under selling my work if that makes any sense.
I always work out my prices the way i have been taught,
e.g. materials + time + studio fees = x + 30% = price + stand back and think will some one actually pay that much for my work
but the prices i come out with are so much cheaper than other peoples, for example, one of the people i graduated with this year had a sale this weekend and priced most of her work between £200 and £300 where as when i do a sale with similar work i dont price anything above £100 unless it is extra special.
I try and keep my work as cheap as i can to try and encourage people to buy, but im not really selling anyway so should i just put a higher price tag on it anyway?
Im in such a dilemma because i am trying to get my first esty shop up and running for my new products and i want to have honest prices to put with my work
How does everone else come up with the prices that they are happy with?
Does anyone have any advice?

Thanks in advance (and i really hope this has made sense)
:)

Blue Box Studio