inclusions

Started by Peego, July 01, 2012, 08:32:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Peego

Hi
Have only been fusing for 3 weeks now and am slowly building up my supply. Am very interested in inclusions for making coasters and I have a coaster at home that I bought on hol in Cornwall. Can anyone tell me what is inside it? It is a paper heart and it does also have a bit of a leathery look to it and is the same colour on both sides. I thought maybe it was glassline paper and so ordered some of this only to find that this is indeed painted thinfire paper. I used this but didn't get the same effect. The glassline paper crinkled and shrank where as the paper heart in the bought coaster remains perfect. So any help on identifying this type of paper and where I can buy it from will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks very much, hope you are all enjoying the football!

SilverGems89

I'm no expert so can't make a suggestion from your description, a picture might help narrow it down though!

Peego

Hi
this is the link to the woman whose coaster I have. hope this helps.

http://www.jodowns.bigcartel.com/

thanks

Sarah A

Could it be a metal inclusion, maybe copper?  Maybe you could put a picture of the coaster on here?

micpru

Copper can go read in the kiln and brass is good to.  Different kilns will produce different effects so best to try then out.  You will need to sandwich the metal in 2 layers of glass.
Michaela x

SilverGems89

looking at her other wok i'd say its most likely copper

Blue Box Studio

I think it's copper foil.  Not that I know how to do it but had a conversation with someone about in one of her shops. 
Sue
Website ~ Etsy ~ Blog ~ Flickr

Peego

Thanks everyone, will get some copper and give it a go.

Redhotsal

It IS copper - they use it a lot in Jo Down's stuff. You can get it to stay red or go a black/blue colour depending on the firing conditions.

flame n fuse