how do I remove grinding marks from a slumped bottle

Started by loulabelle, May 02, 2012, 09:52:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

loulabelle

Hi
I am relatively new to glass fusing and recently I bought a glass mould which holds bottles. I am able to do a full fuse in the mould but this often leaves spikey bits, which need to be ground off. After I've ground them they are smooth but need to be polished . I've heard of fire polishing but understand that this happens at temperatures higher than slumping and as the bottles have already been slumped can I fire polish them in a mould as otherwise they'll lose their shape. If anyone can help that would be great. I have a skutt hot start  and would welcome a fire polish  programme .
thanks Louise ;D

Katerina

hi
I thought fire polishing made on the open flame.....like hot head?

julieHB

Here are a couple of good links for you:

http://www.glass-fusing-made-easy.com/fire-polishing-fused-glass.html

http://www.glasscampus.com/tutorials.htm

I have only fire polished small pieces, so cannot really give much advise. Soak the bottle in water and washing up liquid as soon as you have ground off the sharp bits, let it dry, then fire polish. The fire polish is a much shorter cycle, so there is little time for the bottle to slump any more. If you put it in the mould it shouldn't be be a problem anyway.
Julie xx

My Webbie - My Flickr

Stephen Richard

Quote from: loulabelle on May 02, 2012, 09:52:16 PM
Hi