AOTM May 2012 - Kathryn Greer

Started by sparrow, April 30, 2012, 07:45:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sparrow

Kathryn Greer

How did you get started in glass bead making?

I have always had a love for beads and started making jewellery when I was a young child. The usual beads eventually were not enough, so I searched and searched for that "special" kind of bead that would make the difference! I then found an American lampworker's website with a free tutorial and I was hooked. After months and months of research on safety and other important information, I was given a beginner's lampworking kit at Christmas in 2004.

Where and when did you light the torch for the first time?

As mentioned above, I started when I was fourteen on Christmas day, in 2004. Having seen lots of tutorials and videos for months, I was crazy enough not to be scared to light my torch!

mix3 by Kathryn Greer, on Flickr

Have you had any lessons? Where do you get your knowledge from?

I am self taught, thanks to online forums, tutorials and Corina Tettinger's book Passing the Flame.

Are there any bead makers or jewellery designers you admire? What for?

I admire Dora Schubert's stringer work, as well as Donna Mehnert's and Corina Tettinger's whimsical style of beads. I admire anyone with great stringer work and beautifully detailed encased beads.

Where do you get your inspiration from?

Beads and colour combinations are often inspired by things that surround me everyday. My best work is usually inspired by French countryside or the seaside, where you see many different sorts of little flowers, animals and especially lots of colour!

Have you got a 'signature' style? How would you describe it?

I think I can safely say that encased florals are my signature style. Really deep detailed beads are what I always strive for.

What skill or technique would you like to learn - where would you like to take your art next?