Running two OxyCons

Started by Martman, October 26, 2011, 11:32:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Martman

Hi all

Can any one tell me if there is any advantage in running two Oxycons apart from having a backup?

The only thing I can think of is that you won't be running the units flat out and you will get a bigger flame?

Mart

Redhotsal

Uh, I have two lashed together and I run them flat out. BUT....my two are really old and I like a big flame as I often make 38mm lentil beads.

Having a back up is a big advantage as when the b*****s go wrong it's very frustrating.

However, if I were you I think I'd start with one and then if one is not enough I'd get another one. Unless there's a deal to be had by getting two together.

I have two oxys in my main studio but have only one oxy set up in my "holiday" studio and I do notice a difference. But then, I make beads for a living and it's largely a numbers game with me.

You really need to ask yourself what you're going to be doing.....since I don't know what you're going to be doing I have to make some assumptions....hobby bead maker? Then one should be plenty.

Sweat shop beadmaker working to a deadline with a big bloke weilding a whip over your shoulder? Two.....perhaps even three....(no, just joking about three  :P)

Boro curious.....want to do sculpture......or do you just want to make massive beads? Two.

HTH

Martman

Thanks RHS

There's a £60 saving but do I need the extra oxy for running a mega minor?

Mart

sparrow

Hi Mart, like Sally, I run my torch on two oxycons all the time - that's the mega-minor. If I use a larger torch, I have been known to run up to four in parallel....which is just plain greedy, lol! But I do mainly boro...sculpture...and boro sculpture :) A £60 saving might be a false saving if you decide you'll be perfectly happy with one oxycon - it might help to know at what stage you are in your glasswork, and what it is you're hoping to concentrate on, as Sal says :)
Sabine x