Making the jump to Bullseye

Started by NRichards, April 26, 2011, 06:45:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NRichards

Hello,

I hope I am posting this in the correct area, if not I'm sorry. I have a Paragon Fusion 16, and having only ever worked in float I am keen to try Bullseye. I am a little concerned about the huge cost of bullseye sheet glass but if I was to give it a go I was wondering what people would recommend to get me going. I've been given a little money as a bit of an investment I suppose so want to spend it wisely. I love the transparent colours of glass but equally like using opaque glass to back pendants and the like. Sometimes I can be little heavy handed with frit as I love the texture it gives. I'm still relatively new to fusing and am still learning the ropes but I have been put off float for the difficulty in sourcing compatible glass and the expense incurred of just getting frits and confetti's that cost the earth for just one colour. I also hate how some pieces of float devit while others don't. In the long run, given how many duff pieces I end up with I am wondering if it would be cheaper to make the jump.

I would really appreciate your thoughts.

Best Wishes

Naomi

Sarah A

Hi when I started with bullseye I was on a tight budget and opted for the student pack of clear glass, random dichroic and the frit sticks all here on this page from warm glass
http://www.warm-glass.co.uk/accessory-glass-fusing-glass-packs-c-98_55.html?page=all&sort=20a&disp_order=6, I also got the small stringer tube and a larger sheet of tekta for making coasters etc.  I found it a good way of starting out and experimenting.  It's also good to keep an eye on the warm glass site as it often has things on special and from time to time has sheets of glass on offer (often 30% off) and this is when I usually stock up on these.  Your first order is postage free.  Hope this is of some help.

noora