Cutting Silver Tubing for Big Hole Beads

Started by Fruddy, December 29, 2010, 07:06:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fruddy

My Christmas present from my family is a second hand bead coring press, which I am hopeful will be here in the next few days.  I have ordered some 925 silver tubing from the US, which again I don't have yet.

What do I need to buy to cut the silver tube into pieces?  Will pipe cutters work, or are they likely to be too large??

Thanks chaps.

MangoBeads

Pipe cutter will work just fine - but then you will need to de-burr  :)

★★Terri★★

I'm not an expert, but I have cut silver tubing before with a saw - the kind that jewellery makers use.  In the silversmithing class I attended we used a little clamp to hold the tube and then cut against the side of the clamp to make sure that the cut was straight.

Can't help but wonder - why did you order the tube from the US?  Tell me to mind my own if you like - but surely somewhere like Palmers or Cooksons should be able to supply the tube you need.

Fruddy

Quote from: Terri on December 29, 2010, 07:10:56 PM
I'm not an expert, but I have cut silver tubing before with a saw - the kind that jewellery makers use.  In the silversmithing class I attended we used a little clamp to hold the tube and then cut against the side of the clamp to make sure that the cut was straight.

Can't help but wonder - why did you order the tube from the US?  Tell me to mind my own if you like - but surely somewhere like Palmers or Cooksons should be able to supple the tube you need.