Main Menu

Annealing Boro

Started by loulou3012, November 13, 2010, 01:49:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

loulou3012

Hi ,
I have been using 104coe glass to make my beads for a few years now and was thinking of giving boro a try as the colours look fab but dont know much about it .
Please can somene tell me if it has to be annealed at different temperatures to 104coe as I dont think I can remember how to reset my kiln now ?
Thanks
Lou   

loulou3012

Sorry ! Just seen there is a whole thread on this at the top of the forum !!
If I am reading it right I can anneal with my 104coe but it will need annealing again ???
Lou 

♥♥Tan♥♥

No its a completely different glass you need to program a new schedule into your kiln to anneal it properly

Steampunkglass

It's a bit tricky, but not too bad especially if you are annealing small object like beads. There is a few sample schedules here; http://www.frit-happens.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=21693.0

loulou3012

Thanks for the advice .
At the moment I only make the small silvercore beads for bracelets . I am making an order from Frantz glass and was just thinking of getting some boro at the same time so save on postage .
I am a bit worried about messing with my annealing program though as it took a while to get it right . Does onyone know if you can set 2 programs and then just select whichever one you want each time ?
Thanks
Lou 

garishglobes

You can definitely anneal it with your 104COE beads, just don't get the rods mixed up  :o :o  You will then need to re-anneal the boro, but this does mean you can experiment at the end of a session if you want to.
I have a Paragon kiln and when I used soft glass I had a program for soft and a different one for boro, so you should be ok with that too  :)

♥♥Tan♥♥

What about kiln striking colours Emma, will they strike in the reanneal? Don't some colours need to be held at a certain temp to strike them?

garishglobes