Where is the best place to keep gas?

Started by Esmé, October 26, 2010, 09:03:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Esmé

Hello everyone,

I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask this.  I am new to lampworking.  Well, new is an understatement, I haven't even got my kit yet!  Haha.  I'm hoping that Santa will bring me one of Tuffnells starter kits.  I'm hoping to use bulk propane and am wondering where is the best place to keep it.  I'm lucky enough to have a utility room which I'll be refitting as a studio but I understand its not best to keep the gas in the same room?  Would I be ok to store the gas outside and run the pipe in through an open window?  Or is it best to store the gas inside (say in the hallway?) and run the pipe out through the door?

I hope I'm making myself understood.  I'm itching to start but have a million questions buzzing through my head.

helenfc

Hi Esme, I know a few people keep their propane inside, but mine is outside and I have a quick release connector from Tuffnells which means I just chuck the pipe from my torch out the window and connect it to the pipe from the propane bottle at the start of each session, and once i have 'bled' the pipe from propane at the end of the session i pull it back in. I keep the propane tank under an upturned bin due to rain and snow, and so it doesnt get nicked  ::)
I just dont like the idea of having the propane tank in the house, but each to their own, im maybe a bit over cautious. If you search 'propane' or 'bulk fuel' in the search box from the frit happens home page you will get much discussion, debate and ideas on the subject!!
Hope that helps
Helen xx

hollergrafik

I keep mine outside, its under the barbeque so out of direct weather. If you driil it through the wall drill the hole high and run the hose upwards, that way any rain will drip off the hose and not run down to the wall and stopping any damp issues

Billie

Better out than in, as my husband would say  ;) :D

MangoBeads