Newbie problem - is my Hothead not hot enough, or is it the glass?

Started by Blue Box Studio, July 03, 2010, 06:48:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Blue Box Studio

Forgive me if I end up asking a daft question; sadly if it's not about this it'll be about something else!  :)

I'm a really new newbie.  I've had a short lesson working with propane/oxygen torches, was immediately hooked and have bought a Hothead kit from Tuffnells whilst I wait for the next course to start. 

All set up and raring to go,  I'm using the hothead with bulk propane, in case that makes a difference.  I know the Hothead is not as hot as a propane mix torch but using the glass that Tuffnells sent me I'm finding that it's taking ages to melt and when it does I can't get it to melt fast enough to get a nice wrap round the mandrel.  I seem to be dragging the glass, everything is so slow.  Even the white glass, which melted too fast for me on the propane mix torch was very slow to melt. 

I read another thread where someone else said it might be the diameter of the glass rods?  I've tried some of the thinner ones, but perhaps they were stiffer glass to use so cancelled out the benefits, but I didn't find them any easier to melt.  I thought perhaps I wasn't using the hottest part of the flame, but have played around trying to find a hotter part, but with the Tuffnells HH bracket thingy, there's a limit to how far my arms will reach without supporting my elbows, then my shoulders start to ache.  Perhaps I haven't got the regulator right?  I found it burned better turned down to 3.5 bar, I have tried tweaking. 

Has anyone been here, done that and worked out the solution?  Is it the glass (try thinner rods), the torch not set up correctly (lower bar)  or just me expecting too much so early on and I'll get used to it if I just chill out and work slower?