To make a mould ...

Started by Nevthedigger, May 09, 2010, 10:00:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nevthedigger

Hi, newbie here with a request for advice. I am fairly new to glassworking in the kiln, but am keen to try out some ideas. I need somebody to advise me: What I am trying to do is take an impression of an antique bottle and cast a piece of glass to pick up the embossing. If you can understand what I intend to do, I wish to use a pad of clay of some kind, roll out the embossed bottle like a rolling pin, and then lay a piece of glass over the impression to cast. Question - what sort of clay would I use / is there a special product available to do this?

Flyingcheesetoastie

Hi,

Are you intending to use flat glass to make the final impression or actually cast the glass into a mould?  Either way you probably won't be able to use just clay and glass as the glass would stick to the clay.

What I would suggest is to make a refractory (plaster based) mould to slump the glass onto.  To do this you would make the impression in the clay, this will be glass once finished.  Then you need to pour a mould over the clay, i use a 50/50 mix of plaster and flint but you can also buy other mold making mixes from suppliers.  Once the mold is set you remove the clay and clean any excess away.  Allow the mould to dry as much as you can before firing and you will also need to add a mold drying stage to the firing, something like a ramp of 100 degrees per hour up to 500 degrees then a 1-2hour soak.  This takes out all the water from the mold without damaging it or the glass on top.  The kiln should also be vented during this process to protect your kiln from moisture damage.  The rest of the firing will depend on the glass you use, the thickness etc.

I hope this starts to answer your question and please feel free to ask any other bits and pieces.

Rachel x

Nevthedigger