AOTM April 2010 - Emma Mackintosh

Started by sparrow, March 30, 2010, 08:24:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sparrow

Emma Mackintosh

When my kids were younger and more tolerant, I painted fabric to make their clothes – as they grew up, I studied textile design part time for 2 years, moving on to devore velvet, as well as making and selling textile jewellery. I started incorporating beads into the jewellery and somewhere along the line realised that selling the beads themselves was more fun (and more successful!).

One frozen December we visited a bead factory in the North of the Czech Republic. I was fascinated by the process, and by the stacks of rods waiting to be used. At about the same time I saw some of Di East's beads in a magazine and was bowled over by their originality and colour. I decided to learn more about this beadmaking thing, got a Fireworks kit from the US as a Christmas present, read and watched everything I could find on the internet, and set off.

It was a fairly bumpy start! I realised almost immediately that the Fireworks torch was really only good for caramel custard and that the kit, among its many other shortcomings, had no eye protection. It took 2 weeks of hard searching and several baffled Cumbrian building supplies merchants to track down a source of Mapp gas, but I was hooked and well on the way down the slippery slope that is a glass obsession.

My glass work changed completely in December 2008. I studied metallurgy at college many years ago, and as soon as I started using glass, the materials science student in me wanted to experiment. I'd always been fascinated by boro but was scared off by all the talk of flame chemistry, colour combinations and needing recipes. It all felt quite daunting – unnecessarily daunting, I now feel.