Oxycon??????????

Started by Edi (Edith), August 03, 2009, 04:53:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Edi (Edith)

Can someone please explain to me what is oxycon? I have been using mapp but would like to find something better. As a newbee I wondered if I could get advice on setting up an area to work in. At the moment I am sharing workshop with Hubby, Austin 10, engine lift etc etc. I am thinking about moving into shed used for grandchildren toys 8x6 small but at least I wont be doing the long jump, high jump and getting into trouble for moving some item of motor mechanic rubbish. Hubby said he will do the shed for me, electric etc. He is electrician by trade so no problem from that. I only use a small area in his workshop so moving into shed will be ok and I can maybe have it extended in time. I have been reading the messages on studio and  workspace and there seems to be a lot of knowledge/experience out there.
Edi
Nana to 5 beautiful girls

Shirley

I assume you're using a hothead at the moment if you've got Mapp.

An oxycon is a machine that makes oxygen. If you are using a torch that needs a mix of gas and oxygen then it's a cost-effective and safe way of producing the oxygen part of the mix. Most people who post regularly on here use oxycons rather than oxygen in a tank.

If you're fed up with Mapp and want to used tanked propane then you can get a kit for this from Tuffnellglass. It works out a lot more economical and reliable than the little canisters. You don't need extra oxygen if you have a hothead.
Val Cox Frit - Thai and Bali Silver 

Mary

Edi, oxy-con is short for oxygen converter concentrator. It is a machine that takes in air and separates out tyhe oxygen, so you can use a torch that needs two fuels (gas and oxygen) without an oxygen tank.